Magazines and journals provide a wealth of information. Most of you will want to use the thousands [millions?] of articles available to you through the databases we provide. Many of these will provide you with full-text articles; in some cases you will need to request an article that we don't have via Interlibrary Loan.
All of the databases listed here are also available via the Library's Electronic Resources page. Indeed, Women's Studies encompasses so many areas that there could be many others here, such as those that cover legal, political, scientific, the arts, etc. Check the Subject listings on the Electroni Resources pages for other ideas, or confer with a librarian.
Most article databases contain a variety of ways to search that can help you create a research experience that is both enriching and efficient. Plot out your topic before you begin: generate one or more words and phrases that describe the type of information you are hoping to find, i.e., think of KEYWORDS. Database search pages will allow you to limit your search by date, publication date, type of resource, etc. You can choose to search for your terms in the article, subject, or abstract field. Assume that the database will have a mechanism for you to gather your results (marked list; folder); check for full-text, and email, print or export your citations into a bibliographic manager such as EndNote.
In ISU's databases, if the full-text article is not evident, look for and use the AVAILABILITY link to see if the article is available elsewhere, or connect with the Interlibrary Loan system to request a copy.
Save individual articles in one place, either on the ISU Network, on a flash drive, in your My Documents on your own computer. That way you can connect back to the article you need easily from your bibliographic manager (EndNote).
