Online Reference Sources

Print Reference Sources

Explore the print Reference collection on the 1st floor of the Library. Most reference books check out for 24 hours. Also, many reference materials are also in the general collection and/or available as e-books. They are all included in the Library's Online Catalog - Fusion and/or FusionPlus.

Ref. JK 9 .G46 2009 Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics
Ref. HV 4498 .E53 2004 Encyclopedia of Homelessness
Ref. HM 425 .E47 2004 Encycylopedia of Social Theory
Ref. HN 28 .E55 2008 Encyclopedia of Social Problems
Ref HV 35 .S6 2008 Encyclopedia of Social Work

Encyclopaedia Brittanica
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Oxford Reference Online [portal]
Access this collection of reference books and find these:

◦Dictionary of Contemporary World History
◦Dictionary of Political Biography
◦The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics
◦The Oxford Guide to the United States Government
◦Dictionary of the Social Sciences
◦Oxford Guide to the United States Government◦Dictionary of Sociology
◦Dictionary of Economics
◦Dictionary of Statistics
more...less...
You can search all the e-reference books in this collection or search one at a time. You can access them from the portal link above, or COPY the title you want, go to the online catalog at http://fusion.indstate.edu. PASTE in your title. The record should contain a link to the specific e-book.
Gale Virtual Reference Library [portal]
Look for:

◦Social Trends and Indicators
◦Encyclopedia of Sociology
◦Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
◦Encyclopedia of Education
more...less...
See above Oxford Reference entry for access info.

E-Books

American Poverty in a New Era of Reform
Read Chapter 4 especially for information on the theories of poverty.

The ISU Library acquires e-reference books from a variety of publishers. Some e-books are 'one user' at a time and some are multiple user. Copy/paste a title below into either the Electronic Resources portal search box (gold) or the online catalog (fusion.indstate.edu). We get new e-book titles all the time; these are just some, so don't forget to search for more - if you search the online catalog for your topic you'll retrieve both print and e-book results.

American Homelessness: A reference handbook {2001}
Down on Their Luck: A study of homeless street people {1993}
The New Paternalism: Supervisory Approaches to Poverty {1997}
Invisible Children in Society and Its Schools {2003}
Empowerment and Poverty Reduction: A Sourcebook {2002}
The Rights of the Poor: The Authoritative ACLU Guide to Poor People's Rights {1997}
Food Insecurity and Hunger in the United States: An Assessment of the Measure
National Academies Press, 2006.
For hunger-proof cities : sustainable urban food systems
International Development Research Centre, 1999
Hunger : a modern history
World Food Programme. Earthscan, 2007
Hunger : the biology and politics of starvation
Dartmouth College Press, 2010.
Seasons of hunger : fighting cycles of quiet starvation among the world's rural poor
Pluto Press in association with Action Against Hunger, ACF International Network, 2008.
Whose Hunger?: Concepts of Famine, Practices of Aid
University of Minnesota Press, 2000.
Targeting investments in children : fighting poverty when resources are limited
University of Chicago Press, 2010.
Race, poverty, and domestic policy
Yale University Press, 2004
Global Strategy for Infant and Young Child Feeding
World Health Organization, 2003.

Poverty, Hunger and Homelessness: Online Reference Sources - and a few PRINT ones

Print Reference Sources

Online Reference Sources

E-Books