Library Student Employees: Discipline 911: Nursing

From EBSCO's press release:

Clinical Queries, designed for clinician use, allow users to limit searches with specific search strategies, to aid in retrieving scientifically sound and clinically relevant study reports indexed in CINAHL databases. Searches can be refined using specific search strategies designed to produce results in five research areas:

• Therapy
• Prognosis
• Review
• Qualitative
• Causation (Etiology)

As research may require different emphasis, three strategies are provided for each area.

• High Sensitivity is the broadest search, to include ALL relevant material. It may also include less relevant materials.
• High Specificity is the most targeted search to include only the most relevant result set, may miss some relevant materials.
• Best Balance retrieves the best balance between Sensitivity and Specificity.

To perform a search using Clinical Queries

1. Enter the CINAHL database.
2. Enter your search terms.
3. Scroll down to the Search Options (or click Show More on the Results page) and select the desired choices (from above) in the Clinical Query box.
4. Click Search.

Library of Congress Classification is a system used by most academic libraries to categorize books and library materials by topic. Public libraries usually use the Dewey Decimal system. The Rose Hulman Library and the Purdue Library both use the Dewey Decimal system, too.

The Library follows LOC rules to put the "call number" on the spine of the book. The call number tells where to shelve the book. 

Materials of interest to the College of Nursing are located in locations throughout the library but can mainly be found under R and RT. Medical information is shelved under R. Nursing information is mostly shelved under RT.

QM           Human anatomy.
QP            Physiology.
RA960-1000.5  Medical centers. Hospitals. Dispensaries. Clinics, including ambulance service, nursing homes, hospices.
RC440       Psychiatric nursing.
RC521       Dementia nursing.
RC954       Geriatric nursing.
RD99-99.35  Surgical nursing.
RE88         Ophthalmic nursing.
RJ245-247  Nursing of children. Pediatric nursing.
RT             NURSING

Finding research articles in CINAHL.
For general research articles,...
On the left, click "Show More"
In the "Publication Type" box, select "Research"
Click Search.

or

Click "CINAHL Headings" at the top of the screen.
Type: RESEARCH.
Click Browse.
CLICK on the link "RESEARCH"
* See all of the different types of research that can be searched?
Check box to the left of "RESEARCH"  To the right, check the box under "Explode."
On the far right side, click "Search Database."

Finding quantitative research articles in CINAHL.     
Click "CINAHL Headings" at the top of the screen.
Type: QUANTITATIVE.
Click Browse.
Check box to the left of "QUANTITATIVE STUDIES."
On the far right side, click "Search Database."

Finding qualitative research articles in CINAHL.     
Click: “CINAHL Headings” at the top of the screen
Type: QUALITATIVE.
Click Browse.
CLICK on the link "QUALITATIVE STUDIES"
* See all of the different types of qualitative studies that can be searched?
Check box to the left of "QUALITATIVE STUDIES." To the right, check the box under "Explode."
On the far right side, click "Search Database."

Finding publications that use specific methodologies in CINAHL. 
Click: “CINAHL Headings” at the top of the screen
Type: RESEARCH METHODOLOGY.
Click Browse.
CLICK on the link "RESEARCH METHODOLOGY."
* See all of the different types of methodologies that can be searched?
Check box to the left of "RESEARCH METHODOLOGY."  To the right, check the box under "Explode."
On the far right side, click "Search Database."

The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence from systematic reviews, controlled trials and more. It is an important evidence-based health resource.

Cochrane Reviews is the portion that includes Level One evidence-based practice. Currently, it contains more than 8,000 systematic reviews.

Trials (CENTRAL) provides reports of randomized controlled trials (Level Two evidence).

Clinical Answers provides evidence summaries on a variety of health topics.